Thorne Miniature Rooms in the Art Institute of Chicago

Thorne Miniature Rooms in the Art Institute of Chicago are fascinating.  These miniature models were constructed between 1932 and 1940 by master craftsmen, and Mrs. Thorne set the standard of 1-inch/1-foot. Windows of these miniature rooms are incredibly detailed and beautiful.

DSC07210

DSC07207

DSC07192

DSC07190

Thanks to Dawn for hosting the theme, she has some beautiful window images. Click here to see more entries.

Thank you for visiting:)

49 thoughts on “Thorne Miniature Rooms in the Art Institute of Chicago

  1. Wonderful! My kids and I kept a very nice little dollhouse, and we loved to visit miniature museums. I wish I could have taken them here. I think I probably went there with my mom when I was young and living in Detroit.

    Like

    • Hope to see your doll house pic someday 🙂 You probably had seen these miniatures before, they are incredibly beautiful. It took a long while to get one pic because of the crowd.

      Like

  2. How delightful, Amy, and what a wonderfully constructed post! I was having a swift browse before starting my first “post Algarve” post, if you know what I mean. Couldn’t resist when I saw this in my Reader. 🙂

    Like

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

