Xi’an

Frizz Tagged X: Xi’an

The old Xi’an:

Xi’an (Chang’an) is one of the four ancient capitals (other three are Rome, Athens, and Cairo) in the world history. It was the capital of 13 most glorious dynasties in Chinese history.

The City Wall is a must see site, 8.5 miles long, 12 meters (40 feet) tall, 12-14 meters (40-46 feet) wide at the top, with 18 gates. It was built in Tang dynasty (618-907) and enlarged in Ming (1368–1644), the largest ancient military defensive systems in the world.

DSC06667

At night, all the towers in the city are lit up:

IMG_1330

Below is the Drum Tower, it was erected in 1380 during the early Ming Dynasty. 12 drums were placed in its north side and another 12 in south side of the tower. in the old times, these drums were used to report the time. Here is a brief history about the city wall in Xi’an.

IMG_1825

–One significance of this drum tower is that no iron nail was used anywhere in the Tower.

Terracotta Warriors were buried with the emperor in 210–209 BC; it was discovered in 1974 by local farmers. According to the current estimates, three pits (total of 27,000 sq feet) contains 8,000 Terracotta Army soldiers, only 1,000 have been unearthed. IMG_1374

These terracotta fragments are there waiting to be restored: IMG_1383

The new Xi’an:

While the City puts enormous effort to preserve the ancient walls, towers, Terracotta Warriors, and treasures, they are also ambitiously building the city into the new era. The architecture of the new city adapts to the architecture style of the Han dynasty (202 BC – 220 AD):

DSC06654

Subway in Xi’an was a $2.24 billion massive project, it is clean and accessible. Per ticket only costs 20 to 30 cents despite the distance. Here is the underpass in downtown:

DSC06756

The Shaanxi History Museum is known as “ancient capital pearl, Chinese treasure house”. The museum maintains 370,000 treasures:

IMG_1451

IMG_1509

You don’t want to miss Frizz Tagged X. See more entries and share your stories. Thank you for visiting 🙂

Here is a brief history about the city wall in Xi’an.

42 thoughts on “Xi’an

  1. Great post Amy! I would love to visit there and see the warriors in person. It must be quite amazing to see! On another note, tonight I got duplicate emailed posts from you, a problem I’ve been having for months with WordPress and trying to fix. Another blogger I follow has duplicate posts every post, and mine are every one or every other. No rhyme or reason. This is the first time I noticed it with your blog. I wonder what is going on with WordPress. Must be some bug. Anyway, just thought I’d let you know. I still don’t have mine resolved yet I’m hoping it will be soon! 🙂

    Like

    • It has happened to me off and on with my reader, but many more did not show up when I came back from my vacation. Xi’an is a grand city! Don’t plan the trip in the summer…

      Like

  2. So much catching up to do, Amy, from your marvellous trip. I’m enjoying it so much – sometimes it’s good to travel vicariously, especially when the person you’re following has such an interesting point of view. 🙂

    Like

    • Hi Meredith, Thank you so much for letting me share my joy of travel with you! This trip indeed was a grand trip. I hope I haven’t missed your post. I was telling Nicole that I missed a lot from my reader and she has the same experience.

      Like

    • They say in China, if you want to see 500 years of Chinese history, go to Beijing, if you want to see 5,000 years of history, go to Xi’an.
      Thank you so much for offering us such a wonderful chance to share stories. Have an enjoyable weekend, Frizz. Hope rain has stopped…

      Like

    • Frizz assigns his tagged a-z on Tuesday, the next challenge is Y. His challenge theme gives a broad range to explore. I’ll Love to read your a-z stories, hope you will join. I probably overloaded my blog friends with a little too much about China 🙂 Thank you so much for letting me share.

      Like

    • Thank you so much for the nice comment, Laura! It was challenging to writing a short post for a grand city that has more then 6,000 years history 🙂
      The underpasses and subway are impressive.

      Like

  3. Nice ‘X’ 🙂 We went to Xi’An and it was a last minute trip and we only saw the warriors and a park with hot springs. I think we would have enjoyed the city wall more than the hot springs… worth making another trip to Xi’An!

    Like

    • Our travel were all fell in Love with Xi’an. I’m telling myself it worth making another trip 🙂 I heard that summer can be very hot. Thank you for stopping by. Are you still in China? I didn’t know people can access WP there.

      Like

  4. I so want to visit Xi’an one day. I was fortunate to see some of the Terracotta Warriors that were touring, when I was in Budapest about 18 months ago. Made me ache even more to see the rest – in situ 🙂

    Like

  5. Wow – what an amazing post, and what an amazing place Amy.
    I’m amazed at how clean and well looked after everything is, and the mix of ancient and modern architecture is really fascinating… great, thank you Amy

    Like

    • Thank you so much for letting me know that you enjoyed viewing the post! I was overwhelmed the entire time when we were there. Besides, people were friendly, food was great…

      Like

  6. Xian is an amazing place to visit!! It was part of my China adventure last year and definitely a highlight! It was so amazing actually getting to see the hundreds of terra cotta warriors lined up in that warehouse. Lovely post, thanks Amy.

    Like

    • Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience in Xi’an with me! I agree, the terracotta warriors were amazing. I was overwhelmed just being there.

      Like

    • Thank you for spending time here, LuAnn! I took lots, lots of photos in Xi’ann… and almost everything we saw there was a story behind it…

      Like

  7. I loved Xian despite the bleak gloomy fog that it seems to be perpetually enveloped in. Interesting to see the subway, don’t think it was quite ready when we went. Thanks for bringing back fond memories Amy 🙂

    Like

    • The museum of the warriors was huge and the preservation/restoring works they have done are extraordinary… I hope you’ll get to see in the near future.

      Like

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Object | The World Is a Book...

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

