Renoir

I’m like a piece of cork thrown in the water and carried by the current.

I let my painting take me where it will.      — Renoir

Pierre-Auguste Renoir (1841–1919) was one of the leading artists in the development of the Impressionist style. He loved to paint pretty children, beautiful flowers and scenery, and mostly lovely women. “Why shouldn’t art be pretty?”, he said, “There are enough unpleasant things in the world.”

Renoir_The_Two_Sisters

One of Renoir’s earliest known paintings is this still life of flowers, dated 1858; in 1919 are flowers yet again. In between he was never tired of this traditional subject.

Flowers by Renoir1858

Renoir died on December 3, 1919.  According to his son Jean, a few hours earlier, Renoir asked for his palette and paintbrush to paint some flowers.  As he handed them back to his nurse, he murmured,

I think I’m beginning to understand something about this.” 

Monet and Renoir had been lifelong friends. Together, they struggled, traveled, developed Impressionism, and grew old… Renoir had a great Salon success in 1879, and Monet became secure financially during the early 1880s.  After Renoir died, Monet said, “Renoir took part of my life with him.”

Renoir portrait, 1899

(–Renoir self-portrait)

Note: pictures are from wiki commons

45 thoughts on “Renoir

  1. Monet and Renoir are masters; thank you for sharing Renoir’s art! I love that he focused on the beautiful rather than the ugly 🙂

    Like

  2. hi Amy,
    R = Renoir (1841–1919)
    ~
    “…I’m like a piece of cork
    thrown in the water
    and carried by the current…”
    ~
    maybe a photographer or
    a novelist sometimes feels
    the same state of mind …

    Like

    • I love Renoir’s paintings a little more than other impressionism artists. He loved to paint to his last day. So happy to know you love the quotes.

      Like

  3. Perfect choice for R Amy, I am a huge fanof Renoir. The Musee d Orsay has several of his works. My favourite among them is the ‘Bal du moulin de la Galette’.

    Like

    • Love to hear from you, Madhu! So glad to know that you are a huge fan of Renoir. His paintings are showing the joyfulness that people perhaps want to relate to. The Musee d’Orsay also holds stories of these great artists.

      Like

    • I’m taking time to learn a little bit about these artists, how and why they did. Can’t see I have knowledge in arts though. But, you live in a picturesque place…

      Like

  4. Wonderful post, Amy! Such an amazing talent. I like the quote about the cork in the water – sometimes I feel like that when it comes to photography – just go with it and see what happens.
    Monet is one of my favorite artists, and I did not know they were both lifelong friends.
    Have a lovely weekend! 🙂

    Like

    • but, your photos are much like paintings, and every single one was artistically “painted”.
      Renoir was always kind to Monet. During the difficult time, Renoir had to paint vases as a side job to make small incomes, he used the money to buy food and took to Monet’s wife, so she could feed her kids, but Monet was rarely home.
      You, too, enjoy the weekend!

      Like

  5. Thank you Amy. This post and your written words are beautiful. An excellent tribute to an amazing artist and human being, well actually two of them. But primarily Renoir whom I have a particular fondness for! 🙂

    Like

  6. Thank you so much for letting me share the story with you, Penny! I’ve read a lot about Renoir, which helped me understand a little better about the master beyond his art works.

    Like

  7. Pingback: tagged R: rescue | my sweetpainteddreams

  8. Such a beautiful post. had i not visited this, i would have missed something.

    even i don’t know where my art would take me. thats the beauty of creation. i feel blessed when i create magic with colours and brushes. its a surprise every time, there is no reason why i picked a certain blue, or a certain pink, its all so intuitive.

    and i love monet and his work so this post stirred something beyond. thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Like

  9. Enchanted dear Amy by your post and the remarkable Renoir paintings you’ve chosen !!!
    “I think I’m beginning to understand something about this.” and his art …
    Warm wishes :):):)

    Like

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

