It’s Big

This week’s WordPress Photo Challenge — BIG. “It’s larger than life, it’s unexpected, it’s the protagonist in a scene. It’s big.”

In 1436, Brunelleschi completed the magnificent task of the Duomo in Florence. A century later, Michelangelo was asked to design a dome of surpassing splendor for St. Peter’s in Rome, Michelangelo replied “Large, yes; but not more beautiful.”

It is the tallest dome in the world, 448.1 ft height from the floor of the basilica to the top of the external cross and the 139 feet across. We chose to climb to the top through the tiny spiral staircases (approx. 500 steps). At the top, I was able to capture the sunbeams.

35 thoughts on “It’s Big

  1. I love images from the big churches and yours reminds me of some of my own captures during recent trips to Europe. Thanks for sharing … and for visiting my blog “Eyes to Heart” and liking my post “Stormy Day on the Prairies.” … Be well, Dorothy 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Big « Becca's Photo Blog

  3. The experience must have been an excellent one for you. I can just imagine seeing that gorgeous structure in person. The photograph captures the beauty, and I’m guessing being there just adds to the awe of the experience!

    Like

    • It’s one of the few awe experience that I just wished to stay there for as long as I could. I appreciate reading your thoughtful comment. Have a nice weekend, Penny!

      Like

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Big | Rebecca Barray – Writer/Photographer

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

