“I want a glass screen, and…”

The previous post got more hits than I expected. All I did was to making a link with one word “Wow!”.  “A Day Made by Glass” is coming soon, and we want a piece of that glass.

But, do you know iPhone started the glass screen which was demanded by Jobs, not cell consumers? What an enormous work for engineers, techy designers, manufacture workers to carry on his vision and deliver the product to our hands. I’m still amazed, just like the first time I got my iPhone. Suddenly, I was able to read, listen, play, photo, watch video news, make calls, and watch the real-time traffic report… all in my palm.

“I won’t sell a product that gets scratched,” Jobs said. “I want a glass screen, and I want it perfect in six weeks.” Jobs wanted the glass to be clear, light, unbreakable, and everything else.

According to New York Times, Apple sold almost 70 million iPhones, 30 million iPads, and 59 million other products last year. Most of these products were manufactured by the Foxconn in China. But, why China? Are these jobs coming back? ….

By  and  explained in “How the U.S. Lost Out on IPhone Work?, New York Times, January 21, 2012

2 thoughts on ““I want a glass screen, and…”

  1. With technology spitting out new amazing products at lightning speed, I’m with you in thinking that A Day Made by Glass is just around the corner. It’s exciting. As for why these products are made in China and not here, it has something to do with our trade agreements, and it sounds as if Obama and the candidates want to even the playing field. I hope they do so we can get some of those jobs back here.

    Like

    • I really hope so, at least some of those jobs back here. It does not make sense when a technology product is invented in the U.S. but made in China.

      Like

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

