Din Tai Fung

Weekly Photo Challenge: Foreign

The steamed Chinese dumplings are foreign to many of my friends.

Din Tai Fung is famous in making these dumplings. In the late 90s, it was selected as one of the top 10 restaurants in the world by the NY Times. But, decades ago, the founder struggled to sell steamed dumplings to support his family. Then, years later, it became a high-ranked restaurant in Taipei. When the business passed on to the 2nd generation, the new boss raised the bar and perfected the making of dumplings, plus other authentic Chinese cookings. For example, they standardize the folds (that close each dumpling) to exact 18 folds by hands, they insist on using organic chicken for chicken soup and on using high quality flour, etc.

Their business has been expanded to Los Angeles, Seattle, Beijing, and Hong Kong, we have been eating in LA and Seattle a few times. The waiting time can be longer than 45 minutes after 5 pm and Saturday/Sunday. It’s amazing one could turn a street vendor food into one of the top 10 restaurants in the world.

A couple of examples:

See more entries click here.

26 responses

  1. I had so many dumplings when we visited China, that I had them practically coming out of my ears. :)

    November 1, 2012 at 9:15 pm

    • Amy

      Oh no… :) The DTF has revolutionized these traditional dumplings.

      November 2, 2012 at 8:00 am

  2. Hope the old man lived to see (some of) his family’s success? Wonderful example of the theme :)

    November 1, 2012 at 9:23 pm

    • Amy

      I’m so glad you asked. The old man lived through 90s, so he had seen the enormous success. The story said that his son had that vision when he was much younger but had to wait until he took it over. There is always a room in DTF that designated to his father with his photos and the restaurant signage of the early time.

      November 2, 2012 at 8:07 am

      • He must have died a contented man – family tradition secured! Thanks for the update Amy :)

        November 2, 2012 at 8:12 am

        • Amy

          I thought so, too. Glad I shared the story with you. Happy weekend! :)

          November 2, 2012 at 8:15 am

          • Oh yes, you too, it’s Friday :)

            November 2, 2012 at 8:17 am

  3. I love steamed dumplings. We’ve had them at different restaurants as part of Dim Sum in San Francisco’s China Town. Yummy Post, Amy!

    November 1, 2012 at 9:32 pm

    • Amy

      Dim Sum in SF is the best! Happy to hear you enjoy these dumplings and other Dim Sum dishes. :)

      November 2, 2012 at 8:09 am

  4. They have perfected their dumplings into an art form! Great post :)

    November 2, 2012 at 2:04 am

    • Amy

      Thank you for reading it, Marianne! I admire the vision the owner had.

      November 2, 2012 at 8:10 am

  5. why do I always stumble with post with food? haha! now I’m officially hungry ;) It’s already 9pm and I’m craving for dumplings!

    November 2, 2012 at 8:00 am

    • Amy

      Me too! :) Thank you for stopping by and commenting, Aian!

      November 2, 2012 at 8:12 am

  6. That’s a nice story, Amy. Btw, I like your pumpkin header too :)

    November 2, 2012 at 1:24 pm

    • Amy

      Thanks, Paula! I saw the pretty pumpkin display somewhere in town…

      November 2, 2012 at 4:09 pm

  7. One of my vices is anything wrapped up like a dumpling (so you know I love this post :P)

    November 2, 2012 at 1:33 pm

    • Amy

      Good to know… Anne! I had been curious about its history and was be able to learn about it from some Chinese documents. Happy weekend!

      November 2, 2012 at 4:17 pm

  8. This post makes me hungry Amy, Thanks for sharing :)

    November 2, 2012 at 8:43 pm

    • Amy

      :) Thank you for stopping by, Jack!

      November 2, 2012 at 9:31 pm

  9. Certainly foreign Amy. Aren’t they famous for their Xia long bao’s – the soup filled dumplings ?

    November 3, 2012 at 3:20 pm

    • Amy

      You know xia long bao?!! I’m absolutely impressed. :D I only eat xia long bao in DTF. I remember you mention DTF in one of you posts.

      November 3, 2012 at 6:54 pm

  10. I used to eat steamed dumplings at a restaurant that I liked when I lived in California. I haven’t had them in ages.

    November 3, 2012 at 6:31 pm

    • Amy

      Dumplings right out of the steamer are the best! But, DTF took it to another level… BTW, thank you for sharing your wonderful recipes!

      November 3, 2012 at 6:58 pm

  11. I love dumplings and plan to try these when I’m near one of their restaurants in the future. ;-)

    November 3, 2012 at 9:10 pm

  12. Love them, but so hard to get around here..

    November 10, 2012 at 6:18 am

    • Amy

      I know… I’m hundreds of miles away from LA and Seattle. :)

      November 10, 2012 at 10:46 am

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

